Blog

SCAM ALERT: Disneyland Holiday Giveaways Facebook Scam

Briefing

A Facebook page named Disneyland Holiday Giveaways claims that they are giving away free tickets to Disneyland or Disney World to Facebook users who share their posts, tag friends, comment on their page, and like their page.

alertSCAM ALERT!

THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM
YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE A GIFT IF YOU LIKE OR SHARE FACEBOOK PAGES OR POSTS

Description

A Facebook page named Disneyland Holiday Giveaways claims that they are giving away free tickets to Disneyland or Disney World to Facebook users who follow instructions on their posts. The instructions might include to share their post, comment on their post, tag friends, and like their page.

Disneyland Holiday Giveaways

The Disneyland Holiday Giveaways Facebook page will instruct their targets to complete online surveys. The purpose of the online surveys is to obtain personal information such as a home address, telephone number, and more.

If you have supplied your personal information to an online survey associated with the Disneyland Holiday Giveaways Facebook page you can expect unwanted telephone calls from telemarketers and scam artists, as well as junk mail at home and more.

Furthermore, the Facebook page might contact Facebook users and say that they are in the top 50 or that they have won. The Facebook page will then instruct the Facebook users to send them an advanced payment to receive the prize. This is known as advanced fee fraud and is very common with these types of Facebook scams.

This Facebook scam can easily be debunked because it is identical to another scams in the past and the page is not an official Disneyland Facebook page. All Disneyland Facebook pages have been verified. Also, a reverse image search of the images conclude that the images can be tracked down to various locations on the web. The Facebook page does not own the photographs they use and the images did not originate from the Facebook page.

Disneyland Holiday Giveaways is not giving away prizes to Facebook users who follow the instructions they post on the social network. This is a scam designed to trick Facebook users into liking the page and submitting their personal information to online surveys.Why are like-farming scams dangerous?

Like-farming scams are dangerous because they can be used to extort money from victims who believe the fraudulent posts. In some cases, the scammer will contact Facebook users and claim that they wont the prize; However, they did not actually win anything. The scammer will then claim that an advanced payment for shipping (or other purpose) is needed in order to obtain the prize.

Scammers can also obtain information from a targets Facebook page, including information about their friends, where they work, where they live, and more. The information can be used for many reasons such as marketing and future scams.

The information collected by scammers is often sold and shared with numerous parties. Victims may get calls from scam artists, robocallers, fake pharmacies, and more. They may also receive unsolicited mail at home and unwanted email messages.

What to do if you fell for a scam

If you fell for a Facebook scam like this it is recommended to immediately locate and remove rogue Facebook apps, change your password, and log your account out of other locations. You should also scan your computer with Antivirus or Antimalware software such as Malwarebytes to eradicate malware and other malicious trace files and website data from your computer.

If your account shared content without your permission make sure to remove the content from your Facebook account in order to stop the scam from spreading to your friends, family, and other people.

To ensure the safety of your bank or credit details it is suggested to contact your bank or credit card company to receive more instructions.

  • If you liked a page or post, unlike it.
  • If you shared dubious content, delete it.

How to uninstall rogue Facebook apps

  1. Sign into your Facebook account and go to Settings > Apps.
  2. Hover your mouse over the rogue Facebook app and click the X to remove it. If you cannot find a rogue Facebook app it is likely that a rogue Facebook app was not installed. Scan your computer for malware with Malwarebytes to ensure no malware has infiltrated your computer system.

How to change your Facebook password

  1. Sign into your Facebook account and go to Settings > Security and Login.
  2. This page will tell you where your account is logged in. To change your password select Change password, type your current password, and type your new password twice.
  3. Click Save Changes.

Add a comment