Blacklist

Facebook Scam: Check Who Watched Your Profile

Check Who Watched Your Profile is a dangerous Facebook scam that may introduce malware and other bad programs onto a computer system. Check Who Watched Your Profile can even hijack Facebook profiles and perform many tasks on the user’s behalf, as well as direct users to fraudulent surveys.

Alike similar Facebook scams, the Check Who Watched Your Profile scam attempts to trick Facebook users into believing they can view who has looked at their Facebook profile. It is distributed and introduced to Facebook users using many deceptive tactics. In some cases a Facebook user may get a notification from a friend stating that their friend has invited them to play Check Who Watched Your Profile. Clicking the notification from the friend can lead the Facebook user to a Facebook app page that will quickly redirect to a survey scam or other webpage, including webpages that contain instructions to install the Check Who Watched Your Profile app. The instructions may say to “allow app, invite friends, and see the results.”

Clicking links on these webpages can lead to several results and may direct users to external webpages with TLD extensions that are very frequently used by hackers to host exploits, malware, and web attacks capable of causing havoc on a computer system and taking control of logged-in Facebook accounts. Users may also be directed to imitation Facebook webpages and additional survey-scam websites.

The dangerous Check Who Watched Your Profile Facebook app/game can also be found by using Facebook search. Sadly, in most cases Facebook will ignore reported Facebook apps and games like these.

If you have received a message or notification inviting you to play Check Who Watched Your Profile ignore it!

Solution

If your Facebook account has been affected by this scam or if you feel your computer is infected with malware please see the recommended solutions below. *If you have provided your email address, telephone number, and home address to the fraudulent applications and/or online surveys it is likely that you will receive unwanted email spam, telephone calls, and junk mail at home. In order to disable this occurrence it is recommended to take the necessary steps and safety precautions introduced by your email service, telephone provider, and mail carrier.

Before viewing the solutions provided below, it is recommended to write down our Tech Support hotline phone number in case you run into any issues.

PhishList Tech Support

  • Remove suspicious Facebook Apps (Settings > Apps).
  • Change your Facebook password (located in your Facebook Settings) and make sure to log out of every device when prompted to. This will stop unauthorized access to your account.

remove Facebook app

  • If you believe your computer is infected with malware we recommend to download and install reputable Anti-Malware software such as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. Once installed, update the software, and run a scan for malicious files. *This software is available free or as a full version and can block malicious websites in real-time.

Add a comment