Blacklist

Facebook Scam: Your Account will be Disabled

Beware of fake Facebook messages and posts that claim “Your Account will be Disabled.” The messages and posts claim to be sent from Facebook (Facebook Security, The Facebook Team) and contain malicious links that can lead to the infection of malware and automatic web attacks that take control of your Facebook account.

Facebook users have complained about receiving fake Facebook messages and seeing fake posts on their news feed claiming to be from Facebook. The messages claim that the targets Facebook account will be disabled due to specific reasons. The message may state that the reasons are due to hackers or a violation of Facebook terms. The message may further state that the target must re-confirm or enable their Facebook account by following a link.

The links provided in the fake messages typically lead to websites that host malware and automatic manual share web attacks capable of taking control of a logged in Facebook account. Once a Facebook account has become hijacked the scammers can use the account to post content on their behalf.

The way the “Your Account will be Disabled” Facebook message scam works is that a user’s account initially becomes compromised. The scammers change the name of the Facebook account to a name such as “Facebook Security” and replace pictures. Once they make the hijacked Facebook account look like it may be a legitimate Facebook profile or page they spam the accounts friends with fake messages and publish fake posts claiming to be published by Facebook.

The Facebook fraudsters can initially gain access and control of a victims Facebook account using various methods. Many accounts become hijacked by rogue Facebook apps, malicious email attachments, dubious torrents, and compromised webpages that host malicious software.

These messages are not actually sent from Facebook and are in no way associated with the company behind the social network. If you receive these types of messages or see these types of posts ignore them and do not click any links. You can report the fraudulent messages and posts if you wish. Also, if you receive these types of messages it does not mean that your Facebook account is in any danger; However, you should still change your Facebook password to ensure your safety.

Example

Notification !!!!!

Your Account will be Disabled for more information [LINK REMOVED]

The Facebook Team


Your Account will be Disabled!

Please re-confirm  your account in order to avoid blocking. This is due to many hackers, violate our terms of service. If you are the original owner of this account, Please re-confirm your account in order to avoid blocking.

Please re-confirm your account here.

Follow link here :

[LINK REMOVED]

“Attention”

Your Account will be Disabled Facebook scam

Solution

If your Facebook account has been affected by this scam or if you feel your computer is infected with malware please see the recommended solutions below.

  • Remove suspicious Facebook Apps: Go to Settings > Apps and search for any possibly rogue Facebook apps and remove them.
  • Change your Facebook password: Go to Settings and click edit next to the password option. Make sure to log out of every device when prompted to. This will stop unauthorized access to your account.
  • If you believe your computer is infected with malware we recommend to download and install reputable Anti-Malware software such as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware to scan for and remove malicious files from your computer. *This software is available free or as a full version and can block malicious websites in real-time.

Add a comment