SCAM ALERT: Your account will be deactivated
Fake Facebook accounts named Support Inbox are sending messages to Facebook users saying that their accounts will be permanently disabled if they don’t re-verify.
SCAM ALERT! THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM DESIGNED TO GATHER YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT WILL NOT BE DEACTIVATED
One of the latest Facebook scams on the social network claims that your Facebook account will be deactivated because they have received a report about something that is contrary to the Facebook Community Standards.
A victim will receive a message from a person named Support Inbox. The message says “Your account will be deactivated” and “Our system has received a report about something that is contrary to the Facebook Community Standards.” The message then lists a few examples such as posting content that doesn’t follow the Facebook Terms, using a fake name, and impersonating someone.
The message is not actually sent from Facebook. The message is typically sent by a compromised account or fake account that uses the name Support Inbox and an image of the Facebook logo. In some cases, your friend might send you the message and their name will then change to Support Inbox.
The purpose of the message is to persuade you to visit the malicious link provided in the message. Once a victim visits the link a manual web attack might occur and take over the Facebook account. The victim will also be asked for personal information, contact information, and bank details.
If you clicked the link, it is likely that the scammers will have access to your Facebook account. They might use your account to message the same content to your friends and will change your name to Support Inbox.
If you search “support inbox” in Facebook search you will find many people who have been duped by scams like this before.
Facebook is not going to deactivate your account and verifying your account using the link provided in the Support Inbox message will not help you. This is a Facebook scam designed to trick Facebook users into providing personal information and getting their accounts compromised.
Your account will be deactivated.
Our system has received a report about something that is contrary to the Facebook Community Standards.
Some examples include:
- Posting content that doesn’t follow the Facebook Terms
- Using a fake name
- Impersonating someone
- Continuing behavior that’s not allowed on Facebook by violating our Community Standards or other conduct that is not allowed
Please verify your account and follow the steps to make sure you are the owner of the account:
If you do not re-verify-your Facebook account will be permanently disabled.
The Facebook Team
What to do if you fell for a scam
If you fell for a Facebook scam like this it is recommended to immediately locate and remove rogue Facebook apps, change your password, and log your account out of other locations. You should also scan your computer with Antivirus or Antimalware software such as Malwarebytes to eradicate malware and other malicious trace files and website data from your computer.
If your account shared content without your permission make sure to remove the content from your Facebook account in order to stop the scam from spreading to your friends, family, and other people.
To ensure the safety of your bank or credit details it is suggested to contact your bank or credit card company to receive more instructions.
- If you liked a page or post, unlike it.
- If you shared dubious content, delete it.
How to uninstall rogue Facebook apps
- Sign into your Facebook account and go to Settings > Apps.
- Hover your mouse over the rogue Facebook app and click the X to remove it. If you cannot find a rogue Facebook app it is likely that a rogue Facebook app was not installed. Scan your computer for malware with Malwarebytes to ensure no malware has infiltrated your computer system.
How to change your Facebook password
- Sign into your Facebook account and go to Settings > Security and Login.
- This page will tell you where your account is logged in. To change your password select Change password, type your current password, and type your new password twice.
- Click Save Changes.